Effective Mompreneurs Have Effective Business Plans (and you can, too)

One of the simplest and most effective things I’ve done for my business is to finally sit down and write a business plan. I avoided doing this for three years. I had all sorts of reasons why I didn’t think it was necessary, and I had even more ideas about how hard it would be to do. Silly me.

I can’t wait to interview Melodie Lane, National Marketing Manager from the “One Page Business Plan” Company for my next teleseminar in the WoMEN: What Mom Entrepreneurs Need teleseminar series. This will be the third installment in the WoMEN series, and it will take place next Tuesday, April 28th, at Noon ET on my BlogTalkRadio show.

I had the good fortune of meeting Melodie on twitter (no surprise there!). Here’s a little background on her so you will know where she’s coming from and a picture of her with her four fabulous boys:

melodie-lane

Three and a half years ago, Melodie was launching her last business as an independent project manager and attended a local workshop on how to write a “One Page Business Plan.” There she met Jim Horan, founder and CEO of the “One Page Business Plan.” Jim became her first client and dear friend. Today, Melodie is an integral part of the company as the National Marketing Manager. She loves doing this job within the sisterhood of moms and enjoys the opportunities the company provides her to do what she is passionate about-helping people turn their ideas into thriving businesses. She has also built two successful businesses from the ground up and considers herself an entrepreneur at heart. Melodie is a busy, single mom living in Pleasant Hill, CA with her four boys.

The “One Page Business Plan” Company is an international consulting firm with over 450 consultants. They specialize in helping business owners “re-think” their businesses and then help them construct extraordinarily clear and concise strategic business plans-on a single page. The original “One Page Business Plan” book has been an Amazon.com best seller for over 11 years. Their next book, due out this summer, is the “One Page Business Plan for Women in Business.”

You won’t want to miss this information-packed hour in which Lara asks Melodie to give us the scoop on why working moms need a business plan, how to create one that reflects your definition of success, and understanding how an effective business plan equals results.
Having my WAHMs create business plans for themselves is a foundational step in my coaching practice. The One Page Business Plan is the template I have all my clients use because it is simple and effective. Learn why this isn’t just something “the big companies” should care about, and why not having one could be the very thing standing between you and the success you deserve.
The schedule for the WoMEN: What Mom Entrepreneurs Need teleseminar series continues every second and fourth Tuesday of each month at Noon ET. Visit www.whatmomentrepreneursneed.com for more information and to sign up for freebies that my speakers are sharing with our listeners!
Do you have a business plan? If not, what keeps you from creating one? If you do, what finally made you realize it was time to have one? I’d love to read your responses below.

5 Responses to “Effective Mompreneurs Have Effective Business Plans (and you can, too)”


  1. 1 Melissa Multitasking Mama April 21, 2009 at 6:27 am

    I can handle one page! Business plans always seemed intimidating to me.

    • 2 laraencasa April 21, 2009 at 9:14 pm

      I had the same hangups for three years. I thought that I wasn’t a big enough business to need one, and why bother since nobody else really needed to see it but me, and who wants to do some stuffy old planning?

      Love how the one page business plan feels like a baby step, and I find that if I can just take a couple of those, I wind up getting a lot farther down the path than I expected I would.

      Hope you’ll be able to join us for the call next Tuesday!

  2. 3 theonepageplan June 10, 2009 at 3:20 am

    Hi Lara,

    I not only had the same hang ups; I taught business plan classes for businesses looking for funding. I knew better 🙂

    Since you’ve created your plan, I look forward to seeing how much your business has grown in April 2010!

    Maria


  1. 1 Business901 implements repeatable marketing & performance systems. Trackback on April 26, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Leave a comment




New here? You might want to subscribe to my blog so you can keep up to date.

Bookmark and Share
Ajax CommentLuv Enabled ce04dceb043a512b0ef80e0342096179
April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Add me as a friend!

Lara Galloway's Facebook profile

Get business coaching and success tips for mom entrepreneurs by tuning in!

Listen to Lara Galloway, The Mom Biz Coach on BlogTalkRadio talk radio