My heart’s delight…

So today I’m going to do something I’ve always wanted to do.

I’ve put it off for a long, long time.

I’ve told myself I’m not good enough, that I don’t have the time, that there will be time to do it later, when I get all that other stuff I have to do done.

I’ve been scared to try to do it, since if I try and then I fail, I’m scared I’ll feel even worse than I would if I just continued to sit here, quietly, and deny that I really want to do it.

So tonight, I’m going to audition for a women’s singing club. Because I love to sing. And I’m not that bad, actually. And it will make me happy. And I promised myself I’d sing in public by the time I was 40. And I’m 38 and 3/4, so I’m going to fulfill on my promise to myself.

Sweet Adelines, here I come!

Woo hoo!

2 Responses to “My heart’s delight…”


  1. 1 Kikolani | Poetry, Photography, Blogging Tips October 12, 2008 at 5:56 am

    I hope it went well. I have always avoided doing things out of the fear that I won’t be good at them, but have come to realize that if I don’t give them a shot, I will never know and end up regretting never going for it. Even if you aren’t the best, it doesn’t mean that you still can’t have fun!

    ~ Kristi

  2. 2 laraencasa October 13, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Kristi–

    I had a blast! What a great group of women. They love to sing and they love being around other people who love to sing. They made me feel right at home and had me singing along, sight-reading, harmonizing with the help of the other strong singers right next to me. I never felt anything but accepted and welcome! I loved singing with them and they invited me to join them, but I wound up declining given their three+ hour/week commitment, which didn’t fit with my family’s evening/weekend schedule.

    And thanks for sharing about how fearing you’re not good at something keeps you from trying to do it sometimes. Pretty much everyone I know has some version of this fear! I thought I’d share with you my fave quote on this topic. It’s from Mark Twain:

    “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.”

    Love it!

    Lots of luck to you following your own heart’s delight!

    Lara


Leave a Reply

New here? You might want to subscribe to my blog so you can keep up to date.

Bookmark and Share
Ajax CommentLuv Enabled ce04dceb043a512b0ef80e0342096179
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Mom Biz Coach Live on Twitter

Add me as a friend!

Lara Galloway's Facebook profile

Get business coaching and success tips for mom entrepreneurs by tuning in!

Listen to Lara Galloway, The Mom Biz Coach on BlogTalkRadio talk radio

