WSJ article: How twitter is used for business

Continuing my theme on Social Media and why mom entrepreneurs should take advantage of its offerings, I just read a great article in the Wall Street Journal about twitter. Here’s the link:

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB122461906719455335.html.

Are you using twitter? If so, how do you use it? How much time do you spend daily using twitter or your other favorite social networking platforms? What are the pros and cons of using such a service for promoting your business?

And of course, please feel free to follow me. I’m @mombizcoach or http://www.twitter.com/mombizcoach.

6 Responses to “WSJ article: How twitter is used for business”


  1. 1 Jesse Wojdylo November 1, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I would have to agree that most need to use social media. It is going to be the #2 way to connect with people other than face to face in the future in my opinion! Great blog by the way!

    Jesse W.
    http://www.subprimeblogger.com

  2. 2 Kikolani - Poetry | Photography | Blogging Tips November 13, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    I use twitter primarily to connect with people, find out what interests them, and let them know my latest with my blogging site.

    ~ Kristi

  3. 3 Rachael November 18, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!

  4. 4 laraencasa November 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Jesse,

    Thanks so much for your comments. I agree that it doesn’t replace the face-to-face contact that all business owners need to grow their businesses, but it would be a pity not to use this technology for the simple solutions it provides.

    I’m working on another post about how to leverage your marketing through social media, so please check back in the next few days to read it here. I appreciate your feedback!

    –Lara

  5. 5 laraencasa November 19, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Kristi,

    Thanks for your comments. I agree that twitter does a great job of virally posting your regular blog posts. I love how easy it is, and twitter spreads things so quickly. What’s a blogger not to love about twitter?

    The other thing I’m finding I use twitter for is research. Where I used to google to find out some background or statistics, etc. for an article or presentation I was working on, I now turn to my resources on twitter. I posted a question about resources to help me explain twitter to beginners, and got about 10 helpful tweets in 20 minutes, chock full of useful links and such.

    And as you mention, it’s a great resource for market research. Again, you can’t beat the power and speed a quick twitter poll offers when you’re trying to figure out what to offer your clients next.

    Love your blog, too!

    Take care,
    Lara

  6. 6 laraencasa November 19, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Rachael,

    Thanks for stopping by. I am working on another article about how to best leverage your marketing on social media and will post it here soon.

    I visited your gimmies site and it looks interesting! What’s your role there?

    All the best,
    Lara


Leave a Reply

New here? You might want to subscribe to my blog so you can keep up to date.

Bookmark and Share
Ajax CommentLuv Enabled ce04dceb043a512b0ef80e0342096179
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Mom Biz Coach Live on Twitter

Add me as a friend!

Lara Galloway's Facebook profile

Get business coaching and success tips for mom entrepreneurs by tuning in!

Listen to Lara Galloway, The Mom Biz Coach on BlogTalkRadio talk radio

