Archive for December 8th, 2008

Adios, SuperMom!

I just finished reading a great post by a fellow momblogger. The title was “Working from home and feeling guilty?” (see the post here: www.workathomemombootcamp.wordpress.com)

No doubt most moms who work from home have felt some degree of guilt about doing so. I know I have.

I remember trying out the “supermom” gig when I had my first son six years ago. My best friend even bought me a cape (ha!), which eventually fell to the floor of our hall closet and collected dirt and dust from all the boots and shoes thrown on top of it. Sigh…

Six years and three kids later, I’ve finally figured out how to be satisfied with myself as a woman, a wife, a mom and an entrepreneur. It was no small feat. I learned some big lessons about compassion (for myself as well as others) and acceptance. I ate a large helping of humble pie. I gave up trying to do it all, and to do it all perfectly. Now my kids are happy, their hair is really never combed, my house is sometimes tidy and somewhat clean, my business is growing, my marriage is evolving, and I am surrounded by loving family and friends. Those are the biggies.

In fact, when I think about it, my life looks a lot more like “super” now than it did when I was trying so hard to be perfect.

Maybe I should go find that cape?


New here? You might want to subscribe to my blog so you can keep up to date.

Bookmark and Share
Ajax CommentLuv Enabled ce04dceb043a512b0ef80e0342096179
December 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Add me as a friend!

Lara Galloway's Facebook profile

Get business coaching and success tips for mom entrepreneurs by tuning in!

Listen to Lara Galloway, The Mom Biz Coach on BlogTalkRadio talk radio