Adios, SuperMom!

I just finished reading a great post by a fellow momblogger. The title was “Working from home and feeling guilty?” (see the post here: www.workathomemombootcamp.wordpress.com)

No doubt most moms who work from home have felt some degree of guilt about doing so. I know I have.

I remember trying out the “supermom” gig when I had my first son six years ago. My best friend even bought me a cape (ha!), which eventually fell to the floor of our hall closet and collected dirt and dust from all the boots and shoes thrown on top of it. Sigh…

Six years and three kids later, I’ve finally figured out how to be satisfied with myself as a woman, a wife, a mom and an entrepreneur. It was no small feat. I learned some big lessons about compassion (for myself as well as others) and acceptance. I ate a large helping of humble pie. I gave up trying to do it all, and to do it all perfectly. Now my kids are happy, their hair is really never combed, my house is sometimes tidy and somewhat clean, my business is growing, my marriage is evolving, and I am surrounded by loving family and friends. Those are the biggies.

In fact, when I think about it, my life looks a lot more like “super” now than it did when I was trying so hard to be perfect.

Maybe I should go find that cape?

2 Responses to “Adios, SuperMom!”


  1. 1 Kim DeYoung December 27, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Hi Lara,
    It’s early AM and your blog popped up and it’s the perfect message I need to hear this morning. During the holiday week with the kids off there’s the feeling of all we SHOULD be doing. Honestly, while I do love hanging at home relaxing, watching movies, playing random games, and doing jigsaw puzzles with too many pieces, I also love working, brainsstorming and getting some writing projects done. It’s so easy to feel the guilty pull as a working mom. But realistically, my work is not just what I do, it’s a huge part of who I am. My best antidote to feelings of guilt is to do my best to really focus on whatever I’m going when I’m doing it (it doesn’t always work so perfectly, but I try). Really striving for “presence” in all I do and savoring the moments with my kids and also the quiet when I can do the work I love.
    Happy holidays to you and your family.
    Take care,
    Kim DeYoung

    • 2 laraencasa January 1, 2009 at 8:31 pm

      Kim,

      It’s a pleasure to meet you (and to friend you on fb)! I recognized your use of the word “presence” and knew immediately that you had been coached/were a coach. I confirmed this by browsing around your blog and enjoying several of your posts. My fave was the one about being authentic and learning to recognize when you’re deceiving yourself by working with your coach and the horses… Amazing lesson. I want to work with that horse! Good for you!

      Seriously, if we could all just be present in the current moment, so much stress of having to do it all/be all would disappear. I laud your efforts and (admittedly) share the same desire to get back to my work after so much rest and relaxation with the family over the last two weeks. I am happy to say I have really enjoyed this year’s vacation–my husband has been off work for four weeks, we visited with family in Minnesota for two of those weeks, and we’re back home to pull it all back in order for a few days before work/school start again. I’ve been present to our amazing extended family and how lucky we are this year (and every year).

      Now, like you, I’m excited to jump back into the work I love. I wish you a fabulous 2009 and much prosperity in your work and life!

      Warmly,
      Lara


Leave a Reply

New here? You might want to subscribe to my blog so you can keep up to date.

Bookmark and Share
Ajax CommentLuv Enabled ce04dceb043a512b0ef80e0342096179
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Mom Biz Coach Live on Twitter

Add me as a friend!

Lara Galloway's Facebook profile

Get business coaching and success tips for mom entrepreneurs by tuning in!

Listen to Lara Galloway, The Mom Biz Coach on BlogTalkRadio talk radio

